Grand Aussie

Book now for £49

Was £3,520


Duration: 27 days

Trip code: AAGASD

Join an action-packed 27-day grand tour of Australia from Darwin to Sydney, taking in the famous East Coast, the iconic Uluru region and the untouched National Parks surrounding Darwin in the Northern Territory. This epic adventure is jam-packed with exciting experiences, from idyllic white sand beaches and rugged gorges, to pristine rainforests and a stunning sunset over majestic Uluru. This amazing 27-day trip provides the opportunity to experience traditional Aboriginal culture, get your heart racing with some adrenaline activities, witness some awe-inspiring wild scenery and sample Australia's world-famous wine in one whirlwind Aussie tour!

This itinerary also runs in reverse, from Sydney to Darwin. Please select your preferred direction of travel in the booking section to see correct start dates.

Trip highlights

  • Enjoy an overnight sailing trip in the Whitsunday Islands and experience a 4-wheel driving adventure on Fraser Island
  • Go on a ‘Valley of the Winds’ walk in Kata Tjuta and visit Aboriginal rock art sites in Kakadu
  • Take a canoe trip in Katherine Gorge, splash about on a surf lesson, stay at an authentic outback cattle station and watch sunset and sunrise over Uluru
  • Go on a guided hike in Kings Canyon, enjoy an East Alligator River cruise in Kakadu and relax at a wine tasting in the Hunter Valley
  • Get active on a rainforest walk in Springbrook, meet an Aboriginal guide and visit Arnhem land and swim in the fresh waters of Litchfield
Further trip information

Day 1: Darwin to Kakadu. Your Australian adventure begins! Head to Kakadu and visit the Bolawi Visitor Centre. Optional scenic flight.

Day 2: Kakadu National Park. Indigenous experiences at Nourlangie Rock. Ubirr visit.

Day 3: Kakadu to Katherine. Explore beautiful Edith Falls. Enjoy Lawn Bowls and BBQ evening in Katherine.

Day 4: Katherine to Litchfield National Park. Canoe through Katherine Gorge. Travel on to Litchfield.

Day 5: Litchfield National Park to Darwin. Explore Litchfield National Park, home to the picturesque Florence Falls and Buley Rock Hole, where you can take a dip in the blissful fresh water swimming holes. You’ll also see the giant termite mounds and have a wander around Wangi Falls.

Day 6: Darwin. Free day in Darwin.

Day 7: Darwin to Alice Springs. Fly south to Alice Springs.

Day 8: Uluru. Depart for the Red Centre. Travel to the majestic natural wonder of Uluru (Ayres Rock). Enjoy a walk before witnessing the epic sunset with a glass of bubbles!

Day 9: Uluru. The early start is well worth it to see the magical Uluru sunrise. Go on a base walk or optional motorbike or camel ride, or scenic flight. A day to explore the area and learn about Aboriginal culture.

Day 10: Kings Canyon. ‘Valley of Winds’ hike. Sleep in swags in Watarrka National Park.

Day 11: Alice Springs. A trip highlight as you take the Rim Walk along the edge of the canyon which marks the end of the Red Centre section.

Day 12: Alice Springs. Venture out to Western MacDonnell Ranges and explore Alice Springs.

Day 13: Cairns. Afternoon flight to Cairns.

Day 14: Cairns. Free day to explore the multitude of activities on offer in this trendy oceanfront town. A group dinner celebrates the start of the East Coast section of this epic Grand Aussie tour.

Day 15: Cairns. Another free day in Cairns. Why not experience the Great Barrier Reef, one of the natural wonders of the world?

Day 16: The Whitsundays. Sail through the tropical islands on board your very own private yacht!

Day 17: Daydream Island. Wake up in paradise! See the dazzling white sands of the iconic Whitehaven Beach before finding land again on gorgeous Daydream Island.

Day 18: Daydream Island. Explore island life and its pristine unspoilt beaches on one of the scenic walking trails, try your hand at water sports or kick back in a hammock with a cocktail!

Please Note: As a result of Cyclone Debbie, Daydream Island is closed until further notice. On day 17, you will return to Airlie beach following your Whitsundays overnight trip. On day 18 you will transfer to Magnetic Island and stay at a beautiful island hotel. Here you will enjoy an included tour through Bungalow Bay Wildlife Park. On day 19 you will travel on to Emu Park as per the original itinerary. For more information, please contact a travel advisor.

Day 19: Emu Park. Take a ferry back to the mainland and continue south along the coast. Have a unique Aboriginal cultural experience. Tonight you stay in the chilled town and enjoy a group dinner.

Day 20: Country Campout. Swap beaches for the outback and stay in a family-run cattle station. Try ranch activities, relax by the pool, tuck in to a traditional dinner and hear amazing stories of outback life!

Day 21: Fraser Island. Try some of the awesome optional activities on offer at the outback farm, such as horse riding or motorbiking (extra cost). This evening you stay in a Wilderness Lodge on amazing Fraser Island.

Day 22: Fraser Island. Explore this spectacular and diverse island in the included 4-wheel drive adventure. Try your hand at stand-up paddle boarding on the breathtaking Lake McKenzie.

Day 23: Gold Coast. Leaving the wilderness behind, go on a walking tour in Brisbane and then travel on to the bustling tourist town of Surfers Paradise and party at some of the coolest hotspots!

Day 24: Byron Bay. A free day to explore all the amazing highlights the Gold Coast has to offer. Get on the road again and stop at Springbrook National Park, before reaching the most easterly point of Australia, Byron Bay.

Day 25: Byron Bay. A free day to explore this chic hippy town. Highlights walking tour included.

Day 26: Crescent Head. One of the most scenic drives of the whole trip! Afternoon surf lesson followed by a group dinner and an evening of live music.

Day 27: Sydney. A day tasting wine in the renowned Hunter Valley before reaching your final destination via the iconic Sydney Harbour Bridge.

This itinerary also runs in reverse, from Sydney to Darwin. Please select the direction of travel you prefer in the booking section to see the correct start dates. The Sydney to Darwin Itinerary runs as follows:

Day 1: Sydney to Crescent Head

Day 2: Crescent Head to Byron Bay

Day 3: Byron Bay

Day 4: Byron Bay to Gold Coast

Day 5: Gold Coast to Fraser Island

Day 6: Fraser Island

Day 7: Fraser Island to Myella Farm

Day 8: Myella Farm to Emu Park

Day 9: Emu Park to The Whitsundays

Day 10: Daydream Island

Day 11: Daydream Island

Day 12: Daydream Island to Cairns

Day 13: Cairns

Day 14: Cairns

Day 15: Cairns to Alice Springs

Day 16: Alice Springs to Uluru

Day 17: Uluru.

Day 18: Uluru to Kings Canyon

Day 19: Kings Canyon to Alice Springs

Day 20: Alice Springs

Day 21: Alice Springs to Darwin

Day 22: Darwin

Day 23: Darwin to Kakadu National Park

Day 24: Kakadu National Park

Day 25: Kakadu National Park to Katherine

Day 26: Katherine to Litchfield National Park

Day 27: Litchfield National Park to Darwin

This itinerary is subject to change. Some activities and locations may change due to the size of the group, the weather, time of year and feedback from past customers.

Dates & booking